Mathematics is everywhere. Let it be a school life or our professional life. So, let’s try to understand the application of mathematics in internet world.
What is CPM?
The
term CPM stands for Cost Per Mile which means cost per 1000. Its one of the
most popular and used term in internet advertising space. This is the cost
which advertiser pay to agency or publisher for publishing/serving 1000
impressions. Let’s take an example to understand it better.
Example:
Let’s
assume that “Cadbury” wanted to run banner ad at CPM of INR 350 and wanted to serve
350000 impressions during the month time. What will be the total cost of client
for this campaign?
Total
Cost to Cadbury = CPM X (Impressions)/1.000)
So,
Cost to advertiser will be = 350 X (3,50,000/1,000)
Total
cost to advertiser will be = INR 1,22,500
Let’s
have a quiz here…what will you find out CPM if impression and cost is given:
CPM
= Cost to advertiser X 1000/Impressions
What is CPC?
Just
like CPM, there are other popular models to calculate the cost in online advertising
space. One of them is CPC model. CPC stands for Cost Per Click and as per the model,
advertiser pays only when user clicks on the served impressions. For e.g. Cadbury
has served 122500 impressions and only 50000 impressions got the clicks so in
this case, advertiser will pay money only for 50000 clicks irrespective of
number of impressions. Let’s explore by it an example.
Let’s
assume that “Cadbury” wanted to run banner ad at CPC of INR 2 and wanted to serve
350000 impressions during the month time. The total clicks were 35000. What
will be the total cost which Cadbury will pay?
Total
Cost to Cadbury = CPC X No. of Clicks
So,
Cost to advertiser will be = 2 X 35000
Total
cost to advertiser will be = INR 70,000
But
what if you need to find out the CPC when cost to advertiser and total no. of clicks
are given? Apply following formula:
CPC
= Cost to advertiser /Number of Clicks
CPC
= 70,000/35000…Therefore CPC or Average
CPC would be INR 2
What is CTR?
The
term CTR stands for Click Through Rate. It indicates and measures effectiveness
of any given campaign in internet world. It helps advertisers to understand and
measures the effectiveness of campaign. It is expressed in Percentage.
For
example: “Cadbury” has served 3,50,000 impressions and has got 35000 clicks. It’s
simple…
CTR
= (Total No of Clicks /Total Impressions) X 100
CTR
= (35,000/3,50,000) X 100 = 10%...Therefore CTR rate is 10%
What is CR?
CR
means conversion rate. It measures effectiveness of campaign in terms of absolute
performance of campaign. Just like CTR, even CR is expressed in percentage.
CR
= (Number of Conversions/Impressions) X 1000,
CR
= (700/3,50,000) X 1000 = Conversion
Rate is 2%
The
above example demonstrate that Cadbury has sold 700 products by serving 3,50,000
impressions and the conversion rate was 2%. Remember conversion rate is second
event, the first event is CTR which means that X % of people have clicked on impressions
and out of which Y% Of sales event took place.
What is CPA?
CPA
is another majorly used term in internet domain. it’s one of the most popular method
used in internet advertising. CPA is basically Cost Per Acquisition. This method
is applied to judge the actual acquisition of customer base or action initiated
by user.
For
e.g. Suppose CPA is INR 500, number of impressions Cadbury has served is 3,50,000,
CTR is 3% and CR is 2%.
So,
Cost to an advertiser = CPA X (Total Impressions X CTR X CR)
Cost
to an advertiser = 500 X (3,50,000 X 3% X 2%) = INR 1,05,000
But
what if you know the actual cost, how do you calculate the CPA for the campaign...?
CPA
= Cost to an advertiser / (Total Impressions X CTR X CR)
So,
CPA will be = 1,05,000 / (3,50,000 X 3% X 2%) = INR 500
Average
Cost Per Click = INR 2 and
Conversion Rate is = 2%
What is eCPC?
Like
eCPM, it’s a metric to compute the effectiveness of the online ad campaigns.
Here the basic rate model used are CPC. Let’s assume that Cadbury has set INR 3
as CPC and actual eCPC delivered is INR 2, then INR 1 is actual profit. Basic
formula here will be Profit = CPC -eCPC
For
e.g. Cadbury has spent INR 1,22,500 and campaign has generated 61,250 clicks
and actual CPC for campaign has been set as INR 4. So, what is the actual eCPC
eCPC
= (Total spent or revenue / clicks)
=
122500/61250 = 2 whereas the actual CPC set is INR 4
So
net profile is = Set CPC – Actual CPC = INR 4 – INR 2 = INR 2 Net Profit
What is eCPA?
The
effective cost per action is calculated same as we calculated eCPC and eCPM.
The idea is to calculate the effective cost of acquiring users or selling
product online.
For
e.g. Cadbury has spent INR 1,22,500 and generate 500 conversions. Let’s
calculate eCPA for campaign.
eCPA
= Total spent / number of conversions or actions
=
122500/500 = 245
A very good information thank you so much.
ReplyDeletedigital marketing course in chennai
Indian railway has advanced GPS tracking system through which they track the current location of train. MakeMyTrip had collaborated with them and was showing live status of train on WhatsApp. But, they didn't make it long, i think after few months they have discontinued the service. From now onward, if you want to know where a particular is then simply check the current train running status online at IndianTrain.
ReplyDeleteThis article provides a comprehensive overview of various essential terms and metrics used in the internet advertising space. It breaks down concepts such as CPM, CPC, CTR, CR, CPA, eCPC, and eCPA, making them easy to understand through clear explanations and real-world examples. In sum, this article serves as a valuable resource for individuals seeking to gain a solid understanding of key metrics and concepts in the world of internet advertising. It presents the material in a straightforward manner, making it a helpful read for marketers, advertisers, and anyone interested in online campaigns and their effectiveness.
ReplyDeleteFor more details please visit Digital marketing agency in Chennai
This digital marketing most helpful for freelancer and more learn visit Digital Marketing .
ReplyDeleteNotify me to new posts seo .
DeleteA good informaition thank you so much seo .
ReplyDeletei am a seo specialist seo
ReplyDeleteYou can’t just ‘SEO’ your website and be done. It’s a forever moving goal post.” — Stoney dieterseo .
ReplyDeleteBuild it, and they will comes only works in the movies. Social Media is a “built it”, nurture it, engage them, and them may come & stay.” — Seth Godin seo .
ReplyDeleteThe reality is SEO can benefit froms PR best practices and PR can benefit from SEO best practices.” –Dave Lloydseo .
ReplyDeleteIf I spent my time reporting every competitor of mine breaking a rule, that’s all I’d EVER do and my own sites would suck because they’d be getting no attention. Rae Hoffman seo .
ReplyDeleteMy rule of thumb is build a site for a user, not a spider. Dave Naylor
ReplyDeleteA real estate agency in Wichita has no shot at ranking for the phrase “real estate;” a lawyer in Fresno has no shot at ranking for the word “lawyer.” Optimize for relevant, specific keywords that will bring targeted traffic.” Matt McGee seo .
Think about what a user is going to type.” Matt Cuttsseo .
ReplyDeletedigital marketing https://seohireme.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteseo and freelanching bd https://seohireme.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteseo and freelanching bd ,https://seohireme.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteseo backlink https://seohireme.blogspot.com
ReplyDeletedigital marketing ,https://seohireme.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteseo and freelanching bd .https://seohireme.blogspot.com
ReplyDeleteseo https://seohireme.blogspot.com
Deletesai baba yantra
ReplyDeletesri devi bhagavatham telugu
contact